Friday, July 14, 2017

Democratic Panic and Terror: Delays Galore on California Sanctuary State Bill

The State Assembly Rules and Policy Committees are in the business of hearing bills, marking them up, shooting them down, doing everything they can in their power to ensure that the agenda of the Democratic Party and the leadership in the two chambers goes through as expected.

There is one problem that even Democrats have to deal with in the state assembly. The membership is still more moderate, even if there are a superminority of Republicans. The moderate Democrats are not keen on raising taxes. They are not too keen on anti-business policies which attack working people, either. Many of the representatives in the Central Valley region tend to be more conservative than some of the Republicans in Los Angeles County.

A large swath of the assembly Democrats depend on law enforcement for their support, as well.

So, when discussions arise regarding SB 54, the sanctuary state legislation designed to turn the entire state of California into a haven for illegal aliens, everyone of us can imagine that they are not to keen to vote for it.

SB 54 was originally introduced as an emergency bill which would go into effect immediately when signed into law by the governor. Yet even then the slim supermajority of Democrats in the state senate were not budging. They simply would not vote to allow illegal aliens who had committed violent, heinous crimes to stay in California, protected from ICE.

This legislation is so nutty, that even Democratic voters do not support it. Sanctuary state legislation will protect nothing but the political opportunism of State Senate President Kevin de Leon and his phalanx of La Raza hatemongers.

So, what's the latest on SB 54?

The opposition is bubbling over. Activists crashed Assemblyman Al Muratsuchi's office last week to voice their vocal opposition to SB 54:

More cities have issued letters in official and vocal opposition to SB 54, too.

Here's the latest update on the next committee hearing for the bill:

Just a follow up FYI  the next committee that will hear the SB 54 is the assembly appropriations.  And as I was explaining to the staff, Muratuchi will be voting in committee on SB 54 - the hearing probably will not be until Aug 23, as I just called the committee to find out the date

See the list of members - Muratuchi is on the appropriation committee

I gave the CA Assembly Appropriations Committee another call, and they established that the next hearing could take place on either August 23 or August 30.

It is crystal clear to anyone paying attention that the state assemblymembers behind the scenes are working hard to prevent this bill from coming before them. They simply do not want to vote on it. They don't want to feel the wrath of either the Left if they reject the bill, and the do not want to deal with the police and law enforcement unions, who are deeply concerned about the safety of their members.

Case in point: politicians are so desperate to be liked, especially the Democratic ones, that they would rather fall on their sword than vote for this terrible bill. 

So what does that? We need to double down on every legislator and demand that they kill this bill!

Here are the members of the members of the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

Give them the heat until they see the light!

Lorena S. Gonzalez Fletcher (Chair)         Dem - 80             
Contact Assembly Member Lorena S. Gonzalez Fletcher
Capitol Office, Room 2114
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0080; (916) 319-2080

Frank Bigelow (Vice Chair)           Rep - 05                Contact Assembly Member Frank Bigelow
Capitol Office
P.O. Box 942849, Room 6027, Sacramento, CA 94249-0005; (916) 319-2005

Richard Bloom   Dem - 50              Contact Assembly Member Richard Bloom
Capitol Office, Room 2003
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0050; (916) 319-2050

Raul Bocanegra Dem - 39              Contact Assembly Member Raul Bocanegra
Capitol Office, Room 2175
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0039; (916) 319-2039

Rob Bonta           Dem - 18              Contact Assembly Member Rob Bonta
Capitol Office, Room 2148
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0018; (916) 319-2018

William P. Brough             Rep - 73                Contact Assembly Member William P. Brough
Capitol Office, Room 3141
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0073; (916) 319-2073

Ian C. Calderon Dem - 57              Contact Assembly Member Ian C. Calderon
Capitol Office, Room 319
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0057; (916) 319-2057

Ed Chau                Dem - 49              Contact Assembly Member Ed Chau
Capitol Office, Room 5016
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0049; (916) 319-2049

Susan Talamantes Eggman           Dem - 13              Contact Assembly Member Susan Talamantes Eggman
Capitol Office, Room 4117
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0013; (916) 319-2013

Vince Fong          Rep - 34                Contact Assembly Member Vince Fong
Capitol Office, Room 4144
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0034; (916) 319-2034

Laura Friedman Dem - 43              Contact Assembly Member Laura Friedman
Capitol Office, Room 2137
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0043; (916) 319-2043

James Gallagher               Rep - 03                Contact Assembly Member James Gallagher
Capitol Office, Room 2158
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0003; (916) 319-2003

Eduardo Garcia Dem - 56              Contact Assembly Member Eduardo Garcia
Capitol Office, Room 4140
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0056; (916) 319-2056

Adam C. Gray    Dem - 21              Contact Assembly Member Adam C. Gray
Capitol Office, Room 3152
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0021; (916) 319-2021

Al Muratsuchi    Dem - 66              Contact Assembly Member Al Muratsuchi
Capitol Office, Room 2179
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0066; (916) 319-2066

Jay Obernolte    Rep - 33                Contact Assembly Member Jay Obernolte
Capitol Office, Room 4116
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0033; (916) 319-2033

Eloise Gómez Reyes       Dem - 47              Contact Assembly Member Eloise Gómez Reyes
Capitol Office, Room 4015
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0047; (916) 319-2047

No comments:

Post a Comment